Daily Stoic Entry #120: Do My Actions Match My Character?

April 30th, 2022

Dennis Greenwood
1 min readSep 23, 2022

Follow along with my personal daily stoic journal, unfiltered, unedited (except for some spelling mistakes).

Morning Reflection:

They are, lately, converging. I do pause and consider the term 'character'. And I wonder what I personally consider my actual 'character' to e. The dictionary defines it as the mental and moral qualities to an individual. In this case I feel that I'm putting in good and considerable effort into living true to those qualities.

Evening Reflection:

I strive to match my actions to what I consider my character to be. But I'm not naive enough to think that I come close to the ideal image I have of my character. For example, I strive for honesty, but it's challenging to be honest when you must deliver bad news that might hurt someone's feelings, even when it's necessary. I tend to shy away in those circumstances, though it depends on the context at times, but I would still like to improve that. Your actions and character should serve you and who you need to become.

Title prompts are taken from The Daily Stoic Journal by Ryan Holiday and Stephen Hanselman.

--

--

Dennis Greenwood

Data Analyst by day, writer by night. Figuring out life one day at a time. A life unexamined is not worth living so I write. . https://ko-fi.com/dennisgreenwood